WordPress confirms why Gertrude needed Alice

Struggling with the set-up of my blog, I realized that I needed an Alice of my own.  “Here Alice, type this, format that, create a website, don’t bother me with drop down menus, tags and widgets. Put some extra cream upon the fruit.” Today, though, I have to be Gertrude AND Alice while still keeping my own persona somewhere in the mix.  I’m not usually baffled by technology, and WordPress is touted as being intuitive and user-friendly.  BUT, I can’t find the how of adding columns to my page (Theme? Menus? Categories?), or deciding what to put in the columns, or if that Header picture is great or blah.  AS I was warned, see Uphill Writing, I am caught in the set-up vortex and might spin here for days, never  really writing, creating or punditing. Keep an eye out just in case I manage to creep out of the depths and do something interesting!

About Stein Ink

Gertrude Stein's cousin. Writer, Reader, Knitter. STARR Restaurant Reporter and Virtual Travel Editor for the Tri-City Voice, serving communities East of the Bay (as in San Francisco Bay Area). Married with one wife, one small dog, and an irritable cat. Raised on the East Coast, where they have an "edge" not found out here in California. Two grown children: good men with families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

